Monday Munchies

So I’ve decided to have a weekly portion of my blog for discipline as well as to share what’s going on in the Whitlock kitchen. I am notorious for procrastinating, and sometimes the thought of creating enough recipes for a blog overwhelms me. So, time for some productivity and a chance to share with you some other wonderful recipes from various blogs and sites!

 

IMG_1433

1. The Curvy Carrot recently posted a recipe for pineapple-mango-avocado salsa that you can find here. A few weekends ago I went on a girl’s only trip with my mom, sisters, and some of my youngest sister’s friends to Miramar Beach, Florida. This yummy salsa made an appearance and wow’ed our taste buds! A perfect cool and fruity addition to any summer day!

 

IMG_1494

2. Shrimp with Mango & Basil from Eating Well, found here. For a girl who’s not the biggest fan of the mango flavor, it’s pretty impressive to have two mango recipes that I love! And this one is INCREDIBLE. It’s the first time I’ve cooked with turmeric, which is a great pair with cayenne pepper on the shrimp. Additionally, it complements the other flavors of mango and basil extremely well. You have got to try this!

IMG_15003. This recipe for phyllo pizza with feta, basil, and tomatoes comes from Cooking Light, found here. This recipe definitely taught me how delicate phyllo dough can be, and how quick it can dry out, so make sure you’re covering up your sheets with a towel in between making new layers. One other helpful tip: the basil looks beautiful when the full leaves are placed on top of the pizza at the end, but the display makes it a little difficult to chew – you end up getting the whole leaf in your mouth in the first bite! I would suggest placing roughly chopped basil on top of the pizza after cooking it instead. Enjoy!

Let me know if you try any of these yummy recipes, and tell me what you think! Happy cooking!

One thought on “Monday Munchies

Tell me what you think!

