Strawberry Mint Frozen Yogurt

I have been excited to share this recipe with you for quite some time. There are a handful of reasons….

1. I love ice cream, frozen yogurt, etc. The juxtaposition of freezing cold temperatures and dessert is an idea I’ll applaud for eternity.
2. This recipe involved me going out on a limb creatively and it actually worked well.
3. It’s summer and you need more froyo in your life!

Another thing that you may have begun to realize me is that I love fresh herbs from my container garden outside. There is something powerful and sacred about plucking fresh things from the ground and letting their natural oils permeate your senses and food. It’s something worth getting excited about, and my husband has learned that the exclamations and squeals coming from the kitchen are just me getting pumped about my garden-fresh ingredients.

 Image

This recipe showcases the cool and refreshing taste of mint, which is one of my favorites. Mint is an aggressive little plant that quickly spreads via new shoots or runners. While creating this recipe, I had an abundance of mint and needed to harvest some leaves to prevent it from overtaking my back porch. I was inspired by Southern Living’s Strawberry Basil Frozen Yogurt, and decided to modify the recipe to accommodate my gardening and craving needs. To give the mint its rightful place in the limelight, I decided to use both chopped mint and a mint simple syrup. Simple syrups are great because they can be kept in the fridge for a very long time, and add a little something extra to things like lemonade or sweet tea (or Arnold Palmers, if you’re anything like me!). I used Giada’s mint simple syrup recipe, which can be found with her pomegranate and mint sorbet recipe.

Image

I used nonfat plain Greek yogurt as the base in my frozen yogurt, which makes me feel a little less guilty about the amount of sugar that I consume in this tasty dessert. Alright, let’s get right into this recipe!

Image

Start by making your mint simple syrup. In a small saucepan, combine your mint, sugar, and water over medium heat. When it gets up to a boil, bring down the heat and let it simmer for about five minutes, until all the sugar has dissolved. Let it cool for about 20 minutes.

Image

While you’re waiting for the simple syrup to cool off, go ahead and mix up your sugar and strawberries. Stir it up and let it rest, stirring occasionally. After the syrup has cooled, you can add that in. Your strawberries should go from this….

Image…..to THIS syrupy goodness!

ImageAfter the strawberries are nice and thick with this mint and sugar delight, they are ready to go in the food processor with your chopped mint leaves and lime zest.

ImageI don’t have a food processor (trust me, it’s on my kitchen wishlist), so I used my Ninja Blender. It did a pretty swell job! I just pulsed it about 15 times…

ImageAnd voila! A beautiful mess of strawberry-mint-lime explosion to send your taste buds to heaven.

IMG_1526

And now it’s a matter of whisking together your Greek yogurt and whipping cream and then adding in your strawberry mixture. Make sure you cover and chill it for at least an hour. Ice Cream and frozen yogurt recipes always work best when the medium you are putting into the mixture is chilled.

IMG_1128

When it’s chilled and ready to go, you can put it into your ice cream maker and follow its mixing and freezing instructions. I use the ice cream bowl and paddle attachment for my KitchenAid stand mixer. It takes some pre-planning because you have to freeze the bowl for 15 hours before using it, but it makes great ice cream, frozen yogurt, and sorbets!

IMG_1527

I was worried that my frozen yogurt wasn’t chilling correctly after the 20-25 minutes, but when I pulled out the paddle, I realized it was just the top that was a little warmer. If you stir up the frozen yogurt and give it a few more minutes of churning, you’ll get a nice and creamy consistency. Yummy!

IMG_1529

Strawberry Mint Frozen Yogurt

Ingredients:

2 cups sliced fresh strawberries
1 cup sugar
2 tablespoons mint simple syrup
2 tablespoons chopped fresh mint leaves
Zest of 1 lime
1 heaping cup plain Greek yogurt
1 cup (half-pint) whipping cream
Sprigs of mint (optional for garnish)

For the mint simple syrup:

1 packed cup fresh mint leaves
1 cup sugar
½ cup water

Instructions:

  1. In a small saucepan, combine ingredients for the mint simple syrup over medium heat. As it begins to boil, reduce the heat and let simmer, stirring occasionally, for 5 minutes or until the sugar is completely dissolved. Remove from heat and let cool for 20 minutes.
  2. Stir together strawberries and sugar in a medium bowl and let stand for 20 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  3. Add 2 tablespoons of the mint simple syrup to the strawberry-sugar mixture and let stand for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  4. Pulse strawberry mixture, chopped mint leaves, and lime zest in a food processor or blender until almost pureed (10 to 15 times).
  5. In a separate medium bowl, whisk together the Greek yogurt and whipping cream until smooth. Scoop the strawberry mixture into the yogurt and stir until well blended. (I left out the resulting strawberry-mint juice out of the mix to keep my frozen yogurt from getting too watery.) Cover and chill mixture for 1 hour.
  6. Pour strawberry mixture into an electric ice cream maker and freeze according to manufacturer’s instructions.
  7. Serve frozen yogurt with sprigs of mint for garnish.
2 thoughts on “Strawberry Mint Frozen Yogurt

  1. Pingback: Monday Munchies: Steamy and Scrumptious! | Captivated by Cooking

  2. Pingback: Yogurt Filled Strawberry Pots! | Keli Paan

Tell me what you think!

