Monday Munchies: Summery Foods

This past week I wanted to cook things that were cool and light, but still could fill up my husband’s stomach. And in my search I hit the jackpot. Needless to say these were quickly written into my recipe book, and I’m already excited to make them again!

 

Image

This delicious picture speaks for two wonderful recipes…

1. Grilled shrimp and green bean salad served over cornbread. It’s packed with a ton of flavors and ingredients include almonds, Parmesan cheese, and bacon, all coated with a basil vinaigrette. Yum! Brandon always loves it when I cook things that constantly surprise with the complexity of flavors, and this one does not disappoint. I’m a fan of the still-a-bit-crisp consistency of the green beans, and you can never go wrong with a meal including cornbread!

2. As a kid, I loved watching Mister Rogers’ Neighborhood, Sesame Street, and Reading Rainbow. I remember watching LeVar Burton visit with a gourmet pasta chef who showed how tortellini was made. It looked so neat and so tasty, and it took me years to finally get a hold of some to try. Then of course, I fell in love with the tasty stuffed pasta. So when I had the opportunity to pair this yummy pasta with some fresh tomatoes in a tortellini tomato salad, I was thrilled! This dish is terrific and can be served warm or chilled. I particularly enjoyed the Parmesan dressing poured over the salad. Seriously, you have to try these dishes! 

Image

3. On my first Monday Munchies I told you about this incredible phyllo pizza with feta, basil, and tomatoes. I’ll have to admit I was a bit surprised by how much Brandon loved this meal. It’s meatless and a relatively light pizza, but there’s something special about that crisp phyllo dough. When I suggested making it again this week, he craved it all week long! I added my own spin on it this time. I used golden zucchini and grape tomatoes from the Dahlonega Farmers’ Market (one of my favorite places to go on Saturday mornings!) as well as some orange bell pepper and thinly sliced green onions. Another success! We can’t get enough of this stuff!

Image

4. This is a fun and quirky experiment of mine from a few weeks ago. At my beloved Dahlonega Farmers’ Market, I acquired a basil pot filled with five different varieties of basil. It is one of my favorite potted plants in my back porch herb garden. I am very familiar with Genovese basil, which is the basil you’ll typically see in the grocery store, but needed a way to use more of my other varieties. I found this purple basil lemonade to use some of my round midnight basil. It’s a beautiful deep purple color, yet when added to the lemonade it give the drink a pretty light pink color. It’s not my all time favorite, but it’s very refreshing and great for a summer afternoon.

 

Let me know if you decide to try any of these yummy recipes! I’d love to hear how they work for you!

 

Melissa

Tell me what you think!

