Monday Munchies: Soup and Sandwiches (and Sweets!)

After a few days off with my dearest husband, I hit the ground running with pre-planning. It’s hard to believe that in a week, my students will be coming to class and we’ll get this year started! There are many MANY things to get done before then! Thankfully I’ve gotten to take a few breathers and taste some terrific things this week!

tomato soup and grilled cheese

1. I have never been a fan of tomato soup. I know, gasp away and call me crazy, but it really has never been my thing. I guess its the combination of coming from a can (who knew I had been a food snob so young?!?) and the texture. It just never really made an impact. But this Tomato Basil Cheddar Soup has made quite an impression. With this recipe, you can purΓ©e it or not, depending on your preference. If I were to do this again, I’d use fresh tomatoes instead of diced canned tomatoes. But wow, this stuff was tasty!

2. Now I’m not completely insane – I have always loved grilled cheese…. a LOT. But I wanted to spice it up, and I found a terrific fusion of grilled cheese and the spinach-artichoke combo. Yum! Check out these terrific Spinach Artichoke Grilled Cheese Sandwiches on Annie’s Eats.

 

phyllo with eggplant

3. Okay, this is just a bonus for you. You know how my husband and I feel about this incredible phyllo pizza. We keep adding new additions to our flaky pizza. This time we used farmer’s market fresh eggplant and cherry tomatoes, with a sprinkling of scallions and Greek basil. Terrific. Honestly you could put anything on this pizza. It’s just that great!

 

caramel sauce

4. If you haven’t already noticed, I’ll let you in on a not-so-secret secret. I have a HUGE sweet tooth. As in, if it were really a tooth, it would be disproportionately larger than all my other teeth. This week a good solution to the ever-present craving was the Pioneer Woman’s Easy Caramel Sauce. If you’ve ever made caramel, you know it’s a very sticky and messy process. And although I love traditional caramel, this sauce was too easy to pass up. With just brown sugar, half and half, butter, salt, and vanilla, you have yourself a quick topping for ice cream and all sorts of other yummy things!

 

Happy Monday!

Melissa

Tell me what you think!

