Spanakopita Triangles

So one danger in living so close to the Dawsonville outlet malls is my proximity to the Williams Sonoma Outlet. Granted, I’m usually looking for sale items, but still, it’s a tempting place! Last month they were having a pretty big clearance sale and I came home with these lovely finds:

pastrypress

I was intrigued by Williams Sonoma’s idea for spanakopita pastries. No, it’s not a dish that’s been in the family or something I have always had on special occasions. It just looked delicious! The combination of spinach, feta, and Parmesan practically had me drooling on the box as I went home.

True confessions: I didn’t actually use the press in this recipe. But it inspired me, so that’s got to count for something!

spanakopita open2

Spanakopita is a Greek spinach dish, and can be served as a pie or as triangle pastries. It is typically made with phyllo dough that is stuffed with spinach, feta, scallions, and egg, with some tasty seasonings. And I must say, the picture on that pasty press box accurately sold how scrumptious these delights are – I’m in love! For my take on this recipe, I substituted scallions with diced onions, and I threw in a clove of minced garlic as well because it’s one of my favorite things to combine with spinach.

spanakopita pile

I’ve mentioned to you before how delicate phyllo dough is, and how important it is to cover the sheets with a paper towel in between creating your layers. I also learned a few new things about phyllo in this recipe. Previously in our phyllo pizzas, I had sprayed cooking spray between layers. This time, I used melted butter, and quickly realized I was using too much in between layers. When you brush between each layer, brush LIGHTLY! But man oh man using melted butter makes everything so melt-in-your-mouth good. Delicious!

spanakopita open3

Spanakopita Triangles

Makes 12 triangles

Ingredients:
1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
1/4 cup onion, finely diced
1 clove garlic, minced
4 cups fresh spinach, chopped and with stems removed
1/4 cup crumbled feta cheese
1/4 cup shredded Parmesan cheese
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 egg, beaten
20 sheets 9″x14″ phyllo dough
1 stick butter, melted

Instructions:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

In a small saucepan, heat olive oil over medium heat until warm. Add onion and garlic, stirring occasionally and cooking until translucent, about 3-4 minutes. Add chopped spinach, stirring until wilted, about 1-2 minutes. Remove from heat and transfer to a wire mesh sieve. Use a rubber spatula to press the spinach and squeeze out excess water.Β In a bowl, mix together the spinach mixture, feta, Parmesan, pepper, salt, and egg.

Unroll out the phyllo dough and cover with a damp towel to keep it from drying out. Place a sheet of parchment paper out to fit a sheet of phyllo dough. Lightly brush the parchment paper with butter and then add one sheet of phyllo. Lightly brush the top of the sheet of phyllo with melted butter, and continue adding phyllo and brushing with butter until you have 10 sheets stacked together. Slice dough into 6 strips (9″x2.3″). Place 1/2 tablespoon of spinach mixture 1/2″ above the end of the pastry. Fold over the end of the pastry to form a triangle, and continue to fill up the pastry in triangles, like a paper football or flag. Continue with remaining 5 strips of phyllo. Cover triangles with a towel and repeat the stacking, brushing, and rolling process with the remaining 10 sheets of phyllo and the remainder of the spinach mixture.

Place a new sheet of parchment paper on a baking sheet. Place triangles on the sheet and bake for 20-25 minutes, until crisp and golden brown.

spanakopita open

 

Tell me what you think!

