Monday Munchies: A Whole Lotta Ketchup!

…and by ketchup I mean catch up, because as you remember I totally missed the Monday Munchies segment last week. So I have a hearty handful of yummy things for you to try.

cayennechickenfritters

1. Grilled Cayenne Chicken: This is actually a variation of Southern Living’s Grilled Chipotle Chicken, and it’s a great spin-off if I do say so myself! I cut chicken breasts into strips to make chicken finger-esque pieces (the recipe calls for thighs) and evenly substituted the chipotle with cayenne pepper. I’m sure the original recipe is fantastic, I just don’t have ground chipotle pepper stocked in my spice drawer. But man this flavor was fantastic! The brown sugar and cayenne make a sticky-spicy-sweet rub that’s hot but very addicting.

2. I paired this chicken with another one of Southern Living’s recipes: Zucchini Fritters with Herb-and-Mozzarella Salad. I’ve been wanting to try a zucchini fritter recipe for a while, and I’m glad I started here! The fritter is topped with mozzarella, capers, and an herb and olive oil dressing. I didn’t have mozzarella balls so I used the shredded mozzarella I had. I still got the flavors I wanted, and we gobbled these fritters up!

chickenparm

This combo I’m about to share with you is one that has been a favorite of ours for a while, but we made it again this week and I can’t let you miss out on this!

3. It all started with the craving for Chicken Parmesan (or in the words of Tom Haverford, chicky-chicky-parm-parm). I know you probably have your go-to recipe for this, but I highly recommend this recipe by Ina Garten. Simple, savory, fantastic.

AND THEN….

4. I found this terrific recipe for Parmesan Baked Tomatoes on Pinterest. It’s simply beautiful – fresh tomato slices with fresh oregano, Parmesan, salt, pepper, and olive oil – baked until tender and delightful.

Now here’s the beautiful thing…. Take Ina Garten’s Chicken Parmesan and top it with the Parmesan Baked Tomatoes. Needless to say we cannot eat Chicken Parmesan by itself anymore. Try it!

pie2

5. I made a terrific pie this weekend. And I have to owe it to Brandon, who has this great knack for imagining pie flavor combos. So when he suggested making a blueberry-strawberry pie, I quickly looked for a recipe online. And I found a beautifully simple recipe from Lori’s Mississippi Kitchen. I didn’t have orange zest, but man oh man, what a pie! It’s the perfect combination of tart and sweet – it’s not overbearing or too heavy. It’s a perfect conclusion to the summer. Bon appetit!

pie

Tell me what you think!

