Johnny Appleseed Day! [and Apple Crisp]

Hello dear friends and happy Johnny Appleseed Day! I realize that being a Pre-K teacher I am part of the remnant that celebrates this holiday, and I love it! The start of the school day brought friends decked in kitchen pots and bearing apples in hand. As we’ve slowed down for a bit (naptime), I figured I’d give you a peek into my shenanigans at school, particularly because I was able to include a recipe in our lesson plans today! YAY!

We started our day by graphing how many of each color apple we had and recording it on our SmartBoard (for those of you not in education world these days, do some research on these! There are endless ways you can integrate it into lessons, and it can be a powerful learning tool! I only wish my teachers had these when I was in school…). Afterwards, I brought everyone to our large table and we worked together to make the easiest apple crisp ever.

You see, I needed a recipe that could meet some very specific needs:
1. It had to be kid-friendly. I needed simple instructions for my four-year-olds to follow. I wanted a simple introduction to using measuring tools as well as a chance for kids to stir and dump things in.
2. I needed to be able to cook it without access to an oven, and I wanted the kids to be able to use their senses throughout the cooking process. The use of a crockpot fit the bill perfectly – easy to put out of reach of kids while cooking, delivers a sweet smell throughout the room, and we could mix everything together in the pot we cooked in.
3. I have several allergies and preferences in my class that ruled out the use of anything with eggs, milk, or oatmeal. The substitution of a yellow cake mix topping was perfect, economical, and everyone could eat it!

As I cut the apples with an apple slicer, the kids shouted “MAGIC!!!” I’m still not quite sure how that got started, but they were fascinated by the way you could get slices with it. We talked about the core and saw the seeds inside.

And at lunch time…..

20130926-132035.jpg

I strongly suggest this recipe for a quick and easy apple crisp alternative. It only took a few hours in the crockpot and the kids loved it! (I did too!)

Other apple activities we have done today included:
1. Taking our apple seeds outside and planting them like Johnny Appleseed.
2. Finding the star in the apple and making apple prints

20130926-132419.jpg
3. Reading about the way an apple tree grows and changes throughout the seasons and then making our own apple sequencing books
4. Using paper plates to make munched-on apples and labeling the apple parts

20130926-132555.jpg

So. Much. Fun!

And for those of you looking for more apple treats, I give you my go-to apple pie recipe. And for a little twist thanks to my husband’s unique pairing cravings, try this strawberry apple pie – very good!

Thanks for letting me share one of my other biggest passions with you guys today! Grab an apple and have a very happy Johnny Appleseed Day!

2 thoughts on “Johnny Appleseed Day! [and Apple Crisp]

  1. Pingback: Cooking With Apples | jovinacooksitalian

Tell me what you think!

