Sweet Bruschetta Chicken

If you have joined in on my blogging adventure, you probably already know how much I adore caprese and bruschetta related things! So much so that when I came across the Pioneer Woman’s recipe for bruschetta chicken, I asked our wedding caterer to prepare a dish inspired by it! It was delicious, and ever since then it has been one of my favorite ways to prepare grilled chicken.

In doing various modifications and improving that fit my various moods while cooking, I was reminded of a delightful little restaurant in Watkinsville, Georgia. For those of you who have know earthly idea where I’m talking about, Watkinsville is a small town just outside of Athens, Georgia. My roommates and I used to go out to eat there at a delightful Mexican-Italian fusion restaurant – Girasoles. When you arrived, they would bring out some crisp baguette slices and a sweet balsamic dipping sauce that was out of this world. This played into my most recent interpretation of bruschetta chicken.

20131015-140840.jpg

As I mentioned recently, I had a bit of a dilemma with my cherry tomato plant. It was growing splendidly, and I had a chance to harvest a handful of these tasty little jewels. The issue arose when we moved into an apartment without a back portch. No longer do we have the luxury to have oodles of potted plants. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE our new place, but sadly our cherry tomato friend could not join us in our move. So I went ahead and took some green cherry tomatoes with me as I said goodbye to my dear plants.

It turns out that green tomatoes are a great texture addition to meals, this one included. So if you started late in your tomato crop and are still waiting for a few to ripen before the chilly weather really sets in, never fear! You can still use them!

Anyways, enjoy!

20131015-141440.jpg

Sweet Bruschetta Chicken

Ingredients:

for the chicken…
2 tablespoons granulated sugar
1/2 cup balsamic vinegar
1/2 cup olive oil
2 tablespoons rosemary garlic (I used a spice I have at home that is dried minced garlic with rosemary, but you could easily substitute 2 cloves minced garlic and 1 tbl rosemary)
2 boneless skinless chicken breasts, cut into strips

for the caprese topping…
8-10 cherry tomatoes, sliced
1/4 cup shredded mozzarella
2 tablespoons olive oil
2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
1/2 teaspoon Herbes de Provence sea salt
1/2 teaspoon black pepper

Instructions:
Mix together sugar, vinegar, olive oil, and rosemary garlic. Place chicken strips in a large Ziploc bag and pour balsamic mixture over the chicken. Seal and refrigerate for 20-25 minutes.
Combine ingredients for caprese topping and let rest.
Grill chicken and top with caprese.

3 thoughts on “Sweet Bruschetta Chicken

  1. Pingback: Warm Chicken Bruschetta Meal | LauraLovingLife

  2. Pingback: Wrapping up 2013: gifts given, food consumed, and a hearty thank you! | Captivated by Cooking

Tell me what you think!

