Monday Munchies: Pumpkin Chip Cookies

Today’s post will be brief, but significant. As in, these morsels I’m about to share with you are so tasty and incredibly worth your time!

I found this recipe for pumpkin chip cookies on The Curvy Carrot a few years ago, and it was revolutionary. It was at the beginning of my realization that pumpkin can be made into way more than just a pie or sweet bread (although I would never hate on such delightful classics). As a member of the not-very-original group of people who adore this squash variety, I was lovestruck. This is a fantastic cookie!

20131021-230330.jpg

We got to have my parents and little brother over for dinner the other night, and these beauties got to finish off the evening. Might I add that my mom and I got to cook together, which I LOVE. She brought the chicken in its marinade for sweet bruschetta chicken, and I’m beyond honored to say she out-did me with my own recipe. Mama always does know best! The cookies were a great conclusion to a very tasty meal – they are cakey, light, and resonate everything that’s wonderful about fall.

A few things to note….
1. I did not use butterscotch chips, although I think that is a brilliant idea to incorporate both chocolate and butterscotch in one cookie. The point it, I used 2 cups of semisweet chocolate chips in my batch.
2. I do not make them mega-size like the recipe instructs. If you follow the recipe and use a 1/4 cup of dough per cookie, you’ll get 15 cookies. However, if you want a bite-sized delight like mine, I recommend using a 1/2 tablespoon of dough per cookie. With this adjustment you get 5 dozen cookies and only need to cook them for about 10-12 minutes.

Go check them out and let me know what you think!

Tell me what you think!

