Monday Munchies: Appetizers

This week, Brandon and I had some friends over for a little get together. I served some of my favorite heavy appetizers, and with Thanksgiving quickly approaching, I thought it might help you out to add some appetizer recipes to your arsenal to make sure no guest goes hungry! Sadly I don’t have any pretty pictures to show for this post, as the things I made this week were eaten up quickly and I’m also going though old favorites too. Enjoy!

1. Olive Cheese Balls: Cheddar cheese, flour, melted butter, and green olives. This Betty Crocker recipe has been used in my family for years and is a crowd favorite. My husband, who typically does not at all like olives, has gotten to the point where he whips up batches of these on his own. It’s a surprisingly wonderful savory and salty little treat.

2. Sweet Chicken Bacon Wraps: This was a favorite discovered by one of my old roommates, and it quickly became a staple to all of our gatherings. Paula Deen’s simple recipe gives you cubed chicken wrapped in bacon and coated in a mix of brown sugar and chili powder. Needless to say its a little bit of heaven, and they are usually the first thing to be cleared from the table!

3. Spinache Artichoke Dip: I’m the girl that could eat this dip up with a spoon. Spinach artichoke dip can be served with tortilla or pita chips. It’s creamy and cheesy and so so good.

4. Baked Brie topped with Caramelized Mushrooms: I found this recipe a few years ago and made it for my family on Christmas Eve. It’s a bit time consuming with the caramelizing of the mushrooms and onions, but it is so worth the wait! And then you top your brie with all of this goodness and pop it in the oven for a bit until you cut into it and it turns into this gooey delight for your baguettes or crackers. BLISS.

5. Pumpkin Dip: Another appetizer from a few years ago that I loved. Cream cheese and pumpkin make a beautiful combination. This stuff is wonderful on vanilla wafers, ginger snaps, or fruit. My only warning is, this recipe gives you a pretty good sized amount, so make sure you have lots of friends and family to help you demolish it together!

Happy Turkey Week! I’ll be posting a few more recipes up before the big day on Thursday!

Tell me what you think!

