Bacon Apple Cheddar Quiche

I love a good quiche, and it’s a great thing to add to your pre-turkey breakfast. A lot of times my family has a heavy brunch that holds us over until our late afternoon Thanksgiving dinner. Quiches are pretty filling and are a great option for this meal!

You may remember a few months ago I posted this spinach ham and cheese quiche as I christened my new quiche/tart pan. This is a very tasty option!

Recently, I was craving quiche again and wanted to incorporate an autumn-esque touch. I decided to use apples, and have always loved eating apples alongside cheddar cheese. Bacon seemed like a delightfully salty contrast to the sweetness of the apple, creating a very savory flavor. And the combo delivered!

20131126-180008.jpg

When I made my first quiche, I mentioned that it was optional to cover your quiche. In this recipe, I found that covering the quiche was more important because it browned more than I would have liked it to. Let me know what you think, and happy eating!

20131126-182218.jpg

Bacon Apple Cheddar Quiche

Ingredients:
8-10 slices bacon
1 medium onion, diced
2 Granny Smith apples, peeled, cored, and diced
1 refrigerated pie crust
6 large eggs
1 cup heavy cream
1 cup sharp cheddar cheese, shredded
1 teaspoon Herbes de Provence sea salt
1/2 teaspoon black pepper

Instructions:
Preheat the oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit.

In a deep skillet, fry the bacon over medium heat. Let the bacon cool and then chop. Remove the bacon fat from the skillet and cook the onions in the same pan for about 6-8 minutes. Add in the diced apples and cook for about 2 more minutes, until the onions are translucent. Remove from heat.

Roll out refrigerated pie crust and press gently into a quiche/tart pan. Place pan on a baking sheet for stability.

In a large bowl, beat eggs. Stir in heavy cream, mixing thoroughly. Add cheddar cheese, Herbes de Provence, and pepper, stirring until throughly mixed. Add cooked onion, apples, and bacon, stirring well. Pour mixture into quiche pan. Cover loosely with foil to prevent the quiche from getting too dark. Place pan in oven and let cook for 1 hour until set.

2 thoughts on “Bacon Apple Cheddar Quiche

  1. Pingback: Wrapping up 2013: gifts given, food consumed, and a hearty thank you! | Captivated by Cooking

Tell me what you think!

