Mediterranean Chicken Bowl

What a chilly week has been! I know that a cold week in Georgia is much balmier than other places, but I definitely have had my share of layers upon layers of blankets and warm drinks in my hands! Despite the chilly weather, I have been able to make us some terrific tasty and healthy meals in my resolution to eat better and get fit. I’ve even added a workout regimen that requires me to get up an hour earlier than usual on workdays. And as my husband can attest, I am NOT a morning person, so this is a huge accomplishment!

20140110-133455.jpg

You may have remembered from last week’s post that I have finally tried quinoa and really enjoy it. So I had been wanting to incorporate it more into our meals. I also had been craving a Mediterranean salad after having the quinoa mixed with dill, cucumbers, and feta. Out of these two lovely things came a meal that I think I could have multiple times a week. It’s filling and light at the same time, and I’m obsessed with the briny and fresh elements of it all!

20140110-131859.jpg

Mediterranean Chicken Bowl

Ingredients:
1/2 cup quinoa
1 cup water
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
5 chicken tenderloins, cut into 1″ cubes
2 tablespoons olive oil, divided
4 tablespoons red wine vinegar, divided
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/4 onion, chopped
1/2 cucumber, diced
1/2 pint grape tomatoes, cut in half
15 pitted kalamata olives, plus 1 tablespoon of the liquid from the jar
10 green manzanilla olives
1/4 cup crumbled feta cheese

Instructions:
Prepare 1/2 cup of quinoa in boiling water as directed on package. (Note: Most packages will instruct you to rinse the quinoa before cooking.)

After cubing the chicken tenderloin, sprinkle black pepper over cubes. In a medium skillet, heat 1 tablespoon olive oil over medium heat. Add the minced garlic, and stir around for 1-2 minutes. Add chicken cubes and chopped onion. Add 2 tablespoons red wine vinegar and stir around the skillet, cooking until the chicken is done and the onions begin to appear more translucent (10-15 minutes). Remove from heat.

In a small bowl, combine cucumber, tomatoes, and both types of olives with the tablespoon of liquid from the kalamata olive jar. Add 1 tablespoon olive oil and 2 tablespoons red wine vinegar, stirring to mix oil and vinegar evenly throughout. Stir in feta cheese.

Split the quinoa evenly between two bowls, followed by the chicken and onions. Top the bowls with the Mediterranean salad mixture and enjoy!

Serves 2

Tell me what you think!

