Birthday Fun

So it seems as if Mondays and I are not getting along recently with respect to blog posts! Thanks for hanging in with me despite my blunders.

So I was one of those metro-Atlanta folks caught in the crazy ice-filled debacle. Skids, slippery roads, hours in the car, the works. I’m definitely thankful to be past all of it.

On a positive note, it did mean that I got to spend January 30th, my 25th birthday, with my husband! It was the perfect treat. And I have to tell you about what we did for lunch, because it was so. much. fun!

20140205-143614.jpg

We headed to the grocery store and picked up some awesome cheeses (gouda, garlic & herb cheddar, and tomato basil goat cheese), summer sausage, and some entertainment crackers. Combined with some pecan halves, green and kalamata olives, and hot pepper jelly we already had at home, we had ourselves a feast!

I went to spend some time with my parents and siblings on Friday and vast greeted with this beauty…

20140205-144438.jpg

It’s a Whopper cake! Aka a triple malt chocolate cake: cocoa and malt cake, malted buttercream icing, and crushed malted milk balls all over the outside. I’m not sure exactly what recipe my mom used, but this looks about how she described it to me. It’s very rich but oh so wonderful!

It’s weird to think that I’m not smack dab in my mid-twenties, but I plan to fill this 25th year with much more exciting cooking ventures to share with you!

Tell me what you think!

